Rules Questions

General Uncharted Worlds and tangential matters discussion
Post Reply
User avatar
zircher
Class 0
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:13 am

Rules Questions

Post by zircher » Mon Feb 04, 2019 4:53 pm

In FBH under Vessels, it specifies which upgrades require reactors. But, under reactors, it also mentions shields. Is this a situation where both are right? Can you have shields without reactors? Can a crewman that assigns a reactor to shields either boost or replenish them after they are damaged?
Web Toys and gaming stuff - http://www.tangent-zero.com
Solo actual plays (various systems) - https://www.deviantart.com/zircher/gallery/

User avatar
SGomes
Class 0
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:31 pm

Re: Rules Questions

Post by SGomes » Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:54 am

Full disclosure, I had to go back and look this up, 'cause I couldn't remember at all. It would appear that I cut out the "Requires Reactor" from shields because of space issues, which is a terrible habit (valuing layout over clarity, ugh).

Anywho, I believe the general logic was that to create a shield large enough to cover a Vessel, you needed a dedicated reactor. And yes, a crewman can rout power from a reactor to temporarily boost or replenish the shields. This would probably have narrative consequences on a 7-9, like emptying the fuel cells, draining other reactor-connected systems, or burning out [conduits/manifolds/relays/startrek jargon].

User avatar
zircher
Class 0
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:13 am

Re: Rules Questions

Post by zircher » Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:13 am

Cool, I'll tweak the next version of Instant Vessel to add a reactor requirement for Shields. Thanks for the prompt reply.
Web Toys and gaming stuff - http://www.tangent-zero.com
Solo actual plays (various systems) - https://www.deviantart.com/zircher/gallery/

Post Reply